July the Fourth

七月四日的意义。
 
Independence Day, 2006
On July 4, 1776, our Nation’s Founders declared "That these United Colonies are, and of Right, ought to be free and Independent States." This declaration marked a great milestone in the history of human freedom. On the 230th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, we pay tribute to the courage and dedication of those who created this country, and we celebrate the values of liberty and equality that make our country strong.
 
The patriots of the Revolutionary War acted on the beliefs that "all men are created equal" and "that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights." By advancing these ideals, generations of Americans have unleashed the hope of freedom for people in every corner of the world.
 
As we celebrate our independence, Americans can take pride in our history and look to the future with confidence. We offer our gratitude to all the American patriots, past and present, who have sought to advance freedom and lay the foundations of peace. Because of their sacrifice, this country remains a beacon of hope for all who dream of liberty and a shining example to the world of what a free people can achieve. May God continue to bless the United States of America.
 
GEORGE W. BUSH
 
# # #
 
去年的七月四日,我拿起电话,跟你讲话。
今年的七月四日,我们的约定,又被毁了。
 
# # #
 
人有时候自以为很强大,无所不能。但,人真的是很软弱。
人有时候讨厌喧哗热闹,有时候又害怕孤独寂寞,到疯狂。
被轻视、被忽略、被弃置的一次次,只是没到达终点而已。
而,和你们的通话,让我再次从无底深渊中找到光明,从自我怀疑中重拾信心。
彼此不需要在彼此身旁,哪怕隔开一片海洋,依然感到对方的气息、说话的语气,处世的态度。
那也是一种很好的状态。
你们说我是“大智者”,那是我的荣幸。与你们的感情和默契,是我的“至宝”,上帝的恩赐。
Doubtless it is because of YOU that makes me from Frustration and Depression into Super Power.
 
# # #
 
我喜欢淋漓尽致的生活。
我享受被按摩,前提是按摩技巧高,不然我会拒绝付钱。
我换了一个理发店作为我的指定理发店,从此展现新的发型。
我看了电影,一只大章鱼,袭击欢庆独立日的美利坚合众国。
我要去福州路买一本集邮册,我希望是法国进口的,但是不知道有没有。
我要去上海书城买英文习题参考书,不是为我,而是为我的学生。
我喜欢来福士的和平影都,还有梅龙镇的环艺,虽然后者比较脏。
我喜欢看选秀节目,但是憎恶短信投票的恶俗和煽情做作的表演。
一如既往热衷来福士楼下的鲜榨水果饮料,Beard Papa的泡芙,和味千拉面。
爱逛久光的 FreshMart,喜欢日系产品的精致。
不寻常地用手机讲了100分钟电话,担心钱如水流,更担心手机的辐射是否会影响我的智慧。
 
# # #
 
英格兰的离去,我的世界杯已经结束了一半。
先前欧文的罕见受伤和痛苦表情,后来小贝的带伤惜别和泪流满面。
想不到这竟是小贝最后一次以队长身份进行的比赛,遗憾还是遗憾。
鲁尼被罚下场,阿根廷籍裁判与生俱来的对英格兰的仇视。
这使得本届世界杯裁判的水准和人格以及职业操守受到严重质疑。
国际足联竟然面不改色宣布:本届世界杯的执法水准是有史以来最高的。
Anyway,圣乔治十字旗,永远飘扬在现代足球的创始地和亿万人的心中。
 
# # #
 
七月四日,合众国独立日。
从来不掩饰对于合众国的推崇和喜爱;掩饰是民族自卑感的表现。
当今世界,合众国毋庸置疑地是世界各国政治、经济、科技、学术、生活的典范。
合众国的强大,是其人民努力与先进体制的必然成果,更是仰赖于其对神的谦卑和恭敬。
诚然,任何公义、民主、虔诚的事物,必然会受到邪恶、专制、不敬的反对、挑衅和冒犯。
只是,神永远只会保守那些信他的。所谓因信称义。Justification by Faith.
 
# # #
 
我喜欢尽致的人生,用力的生活,热热闹闹的对手戏,安安静静的独白,有没有掌声不重要,因为我知道我的观众都在很远的地方,我为他们执着的站在自己的舞台上,像穿着精致漂亮衣服的小人,随着音乐不停旋转。
 
——《生活在别处》 by 米兰 昆德拉
About Jeremy Shih

Shanghai, Republic of China
This entry was posted in World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July the Fourth

  1. Shirley says:

    我想本届世界杯遗憾的不止英格兰,还有德国和巴西,甚至阿根廷……
    总之,尽兴就好!何必在乎结果呢?
    可能不完美才能真正突显完美吧……
     
    依然喜欢你的文字!也许如同你朋友说的,你是“大智者”!
    我也颇为认同!
    当然也不会忘了要请智者吃饭的事!
    我可是一直耿耿于怀哦!(不过应该快了,烦请核心再等待1至2周…TKS!)
    呵呵……

  2. jia says:

    鲁尼是真的犯规
    我看了很多遍
    和裁判无关

Leave a Reply

